First Oklahoma DUI Conviction
Oklahoma courts determine the sentence for a criminal conviction based on the number of prior offenses on your record. That said, even a first conviction for DUI can include fines, a driver's license suspension and the possibility of jail time—not to mention a criminal record that will haunt you for the rest of your life.
Penalties for a First Conviction
The State has set mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines, which means that, while the judge can increase the penalty at his or her discretion, he or she cannot go lower than the minimum. If this is your first conviction or if your last conviction was more than 10 years ago, you could be sentenced to ten days to one year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a license suspension. You could also be required to obtain a substance abuse assessment and comply with any treatment recommendations.
In addition to these court-imposed penalties, you could also face consequences in your personal and professional life. If a potential employer runs a background check, or if you work in an industry that requires security clearances, your DUI conviction will be discovered.
Fighting a DUI Is Possible
Many people who are arrested for DUI believe that the evidence against them is correct, and they plead guilty to their charges. The attorneys at the Edge Law Firm have the training to know that field sobriety or breath tests can be flawed—and they have used their experience to defend hundreds of Oklahoma residents.
As one of only two board-certified DUI defense lawyers in the state, attorney Bruce Edge can help you tackle your case head on. To schedule a free case evaluation, complete our online form now or call (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333.