Oklahoma DUI Automatic License Suspension
If you fail a breath test or refuse to take it, you will face an automatic license suspension after your DUI arrest. Imposed by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, this administrative penalty does not require that you are found guilty of DUI in criminal court; in fact, your license will be suspended 30 days after your arrest unless you take action to appeal it.
A DUI Arrest Means an Automatic Suspension
Administrative penalties associated with a DUI are entirely separate from those that may be imposed in your criminal case. This means that the very act of being arrested for drunk driving is enough to have your license suspended. You do have 15 days to submit an appeal to the Department of Public Safety; however, if you miss this deadline by even one day, you will lose any chance at contesting your suspension.
The length of the administrative license suspension depends on your criminal record and whether you failed the breath test or refused it entirely. If this is your first DUI offense, your license can be suspended for 6 months and an additional 18 months if you refused a breath test or had a test of .15 or higher. The suspension period increases for each subsequent offense, and a habitual offender may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on his or her vehicle as a condition of license reinstatement.
Act Now to Appeal Your License Suspension
While the license suspension is automatic if you fail to act, appealing it may still be a possibility if you submit a hearing request in time. Bruce Edge and the legal team at the Edge Law Firm understand the defenses that can be used to challenge the administrative license suspension.
For assistance in filing an appeal, schedule an appointment for a free case evaluation with a member of the Edge Law Firm today. Simply complete our online form or call (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333.