Oklahoma DUI School
Alcohol and substance abuse classes are often required components of a DUI sentence. Commonly referred to as "DUI School," completion of these courses is required in order to get your license reinstated after the suspension period is over.
What is DUI School?
DUI School consists of classes taught over the course of 10 or 24 hours. To determine which course you must take, you will first be required to get a substance abuse assessment. The DUI School covers a number of topics, including the impact that alcohol and drugs can have on your body and mind and the dangers of driving while under the influence.
A 10-hour course can be completed in approximately three days, while the 24-hour course could take several weeks to complete. Generally, you will have a specific amount of time in which you must complete the course in order to get your certificate of completion, which is necessary for license reinstatement.
Choosing the Right Substance Abuse Course
If your license has been suspended or revoked, it is essential that you complete your DUI school requirement in order to regain your driving privileges. When looking for a DUI School, it is important to ensure that the program has been certified by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS). Failure to attend a certified course may mean that a delay in the reinstatement of your license.
If you are currently facing drunk-driving charges, the Edge Law Firm can help. As one of only two Oklahoma attorneys board certified in DUI defense, Bruce Edge has legal and scientific acumen necessary to help you at this critical time. Request a no-obligation review of your case today by filling out our online form, or by calling (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333.