Second Oklahoma DUI Conviction
Habitual DUI offenders face steep penalties if convicted of a subsequent drunk-driving defense in Oklahoma. In fact, if this is your second DUI within 10 years, you could face a longer jail sentence, increased fines and a lengthier license suspension period.
Penalties for a Second Conviction
When determining the sentence for a DUI conviction, the court will consider the number of prior offenses on your record within the past 10 years, the circumstances of the drunk-driving incident and the mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines. The judge cannot sentence you below the amount set by the mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines; however he or she is free to impose the maximum if warranted by the offense.
For a second conviction, you could be sentenced to a period of one to five years in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. This will be a felony conviction. The judge could also order an evaluation by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. If they recommend alcohol treatment, you will be required to get it—at your own expense.
You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle as a condition of your driver's license reinstatement. This small piece of equipment serves as a breath test and measures your BAC before you can start your car.
Don't Get Convicted of Another DUI
Even if you have a prior drunk-driving conviction on your record, you are still afforded the same rights as someone who is facing a first offense. Let the legal team at the Edge Law Firm review your case in order to maximize your chances of having the best outcome in your case. To schedule a free analysis of your case, complete our online form or call us at (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333.