Third and Subsequent Oklahoma DUI Convictions
A third or subsequent driving under the influence charge in Oklahoma is classified as a felony offense. If convicted, you could be subject not only to harsh legal penalties but to consequences in your personal and professional life as well.
Penalties for a Third and Subsequent DUI
The incarceration penalty for a third or subsequent DUI is a minimum of one year and a maximum of 10 years in prison. Other criminal penalties include up to $10,000 in fines, 480 hours of community service, probation and random alcohol testing.
The driver's license suspension for a third DUI is 3 years; however, committing a subsequent offense within 10 years of your last conviction will result in a three-year license revocation. As a condition of your license reinstatement, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for an additional 5 years. To start your vehicle, you will have to blow into the device so it can measure your blood alcohol content (BAC). If you are over the legal limit, the car will not turn on and the incident will be recorded on the device log.
The Law Is Hard on Repeat Offenders
As a felony offense, a fourth or subsequent drunk-driving conviction can lead to expensive fines and hard time in prison. It is essential to work with an experienced DUI defense attorney. The Edge Law Firm handles both misdemeanor and felony DUIs, and will work hard to fight your charges.
If you are facing a fourth or subsequent DUI charge, request a free, no-obligation consultation by calling (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333 or by filling out our online form.