(918) 582-6333
(877) DUI-EDGE
24-Hours / 7 Days
Free Oklahoma DUI Case Evaluation Online

Contact Us

Third Oklahoma DUI Conviction

While a first DUI is a misdemeanor offense, a second drunk-driving may be classified as a felony. A felony is a serious matter, which could result in prison time and the loss of several of your rights and freedoms.

Penalties for a Second DUI

If convicted of a second DUI, you could be sentenced to up to 10 years in prison and $5,000 in fines. Your driver's license can be suspended for a year, and you will be required to mount an ignition interlock device in your vehicle as a condition of your driver's license reinstatement. The ignition interlock device is essentially a mini breath test that measures your blood alcohol content (BAC) before allowing you to drive.

The judge may also require substance abuse treatment as part of the punishment. You may also be placed on probation. This means you may be subjected to random tests to ensure that you are abstaining from alcohol. If you fail to adhere to the terms of your probation, you could be thrown back in prison.

The Effects of a Felony Conviction Can Last a Lifetime

The consequences of a second DUI conviction lingers long after the sentence has been completed. As a convicted felon, you could face difficulties in renting a house or apartment, applying for a loan, or finding employment. You will also be prohibited from voting or owning a firearm.

The stakes are high when you're facing a felony DUI; fortunately, the Edge Law Firm can help. As a board-certified DUI defense attorney, Bruce Edge has undergone advanced training on the evidence used in DUI cases, and can use his experience to help you at this critical time.

For a free, no-obligation review of your case at the Edge Law Firm, submit your information via our online form or call (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333 today.



Oklahoma DUI Laws
1-877-DUI-EDGE
FREE PARKING