Underage Oklahoma DUI
Oklahoma has a zero-tolerance policy on underage drinking and driving. Therefore, any individual under the age of 21 who is found operating a vehicle with blood alcohol content (BAC) level above .02 will be charged with a crime. Consuming just one drink could result in a charge for DUI.
Penalties for Underage DUI
The penalties for an under-21 DUI offense depend on the number of prior offenses on your record as well as your BAC. If this is your first offense, and your BAC was under .08%, you could be sentenced to a six-month driver's license suspension, up to $500 in fines and 20 hours of community service. If your BAC was above .08%, you may face up to one year behind bars, a fine up to $1,000 and a license suspension. A substance abuse treatment program may also be required.
If this is your second offense, you could be sentenced to up to $1,000 in fines and 240 hours of community service. You will also be required to have an ignition interlock mounted in your car for a 30-day period after your driver's license is reinstated. If your BAC was over .08%, you may also face jail time and increased fines.
A DUI Can Affect a Number of Opportunities
Being convicted of a DUI as a young adult could result in a number of difficulties when applying for education or employment; that's why fighting the charge is so important. The legal team at the Edge Law Firm knows how much is at stake when facing a DUI offense, and will use their legal and scientific experience to challenge the evidence against you.
If you or a loved one is facing an underage DUI in Oklahoma, the Edge Law Firm can help. Schedule your free, no-obligation case analysis with a member of our team by completing our online contact form or calling (877) DUI-EDGE or (918) 582-6333 today.